My reaction to the Newtown Shooting

Since I heard about yesterday’s tragedy I have a lot of thoughts roaming around in my head that I just need to get out.

This is such an unthinkable tragedy. I can’t imagine what the families who lost a child or loved one yesterday are going through. I can’t imagine what the children who survived and saw their friend, classmate or teacher die in front of their young innocent eyes are going through. It’s unimaginable to think that anyone would choose an elementary school as the place to carry out such a horrific act. This whole thing is so hard to wrap my head around.

In my opinion CNN, and any other news outlet who was interviewing the CHILDREN from the school land just one notch below the shooter in my books. It’s not enough that that the children just went through that, but let’s interview them right after the fact. They are vultures, and it’s disgusting. I refuse to watch CNN and contribute to their ratings.

The media has sensationalized the shooter, we all know his name, but who are any of the victims? I hate the way that these things are covered. Do we really need interviews from random neighbors, distant family relatives, and basically anyone with a slight connection to the shooter who is willing to get on camera to give an interview? Do we need reporters camped out in front of family members homes? Did camera crews need camera crews outside of the school 24/7? It really makes me mad.

I live I Canada, and events like this make me grateful. I have seen several Facebook statuses and tweets from people about switching to homeschooling, and while most probably won’t follow through on it, it’s still a thought that people have. I don’t have the same gut reaction that schools aren’t a safe place after this happens. If we still live in Canada in a few years when L starts school I would feel confident that he would be safe. In the past twenty years there have been six school shootings in Canada including a couple at universities. The culture around guns here is different, and I’m glad.

I have been giving L extra hugs and kisses, and been extra grateful for every moment with him. Life is short, and none of us know how much time have. Yesterday just reminds us of this, and I’m sure that we all feel this way, and have all given our kids extra hugs.

One response »

What did you think?

