Reality T.V.

Last week’s theme Thursday I didn’t have much to say about. I had a pretty standard wedding which was lovely and I love it, but nothing too crazy happened that made for a good story. This weeks topic however is right up my alley!

Reality T.V. is my I watched the highs lows of Lauren Conrad on Laguna Beach, and then on the Hills. I love to watch designers make incredible dresses out of umbrellas in one day. I get a kick out of watching Dance Mom’s fight with Abby when Maddy gets yet another solo, and I can’t stop watching Sister Wives.

My favourite, and most hated show however is the bachelor/bachelorette. It drives my husband batty. I watch every season without fail. I love it…at least in the beginning. There’s the fancy dates, and the drama that happens when you throw 16 people together to compete for the affections of one person. For some reason they are all completely smitten with whoever the Bachelor(ette). No one ever says “you seem like a nice person, but I’m just not sure that we mesh well” and leave. I don’t know if they have the experts at eharmony working for them so that everyone there is a perfet compatible match, but some how, that’s how it seems to work out.

It starts to whittle down, and things start having a more serious tone. There’s more tears than before, and people get a little more competitive, which usually leads to some more drama…LOVE it.

Once you get down to 4-6 people though, the show takes a turn for the worse. By this point everyone is “falling in love”, or can see themselves falling in love with the person. Now let’s look at this objectively…they have been dating for about four weeks, in a non-exclusive relationship. If a chick in the real world told a guy that she had been casually dating for four weeks that she was falling in love, the guy would think she was a psycho. In the land of the Bachelor(ette) this is normal, and even scripted expected.

This my friends is where I lose my shit, I have a hard time believing that any self-respecting person would do this. It drives me especially batty to see women doing this. Then once they get down to three they are all in love, and get whisked into the fantasy suite for a night of shagging. The worst lay gets sent home, and then there are two.

Once they are at two they are head over-heals in love and will be completely devastated if their undying love goes unrequited. But in the end there can only be one. Someone takes a tear filled limo ride home, and wonders how they will ever manage to love again. The chosen one either gets proposed to, or does the proposing and the girl jumps around and says yes.

The filming of the Bachelor(ette) is six weeks. Yup every season someone agrees to marry someone after six week of what can be described as casual dating at best. It’s not won the “success rate” of the show is so low.

Will you accept this rose and check out the other Theme Thursday posts here.

20121219-211453.jpg

2 responses »

  1. I love it…especially the lines “Then once they get down to three they are all in love, and get whisked into the fantasy suite for a night of shagging. The worst lay gets sent home, and then there are two.” So true…and I get frustrated with the women as well…but I can’t help watching!

What did you think?

